Research Committee

The Research Committee determines areas of research policies and assumes responsibility for assessing grant applications. The Chairperson must be an ESA Active Member. The number of appointed members is 8 (including the Chairperson of the Committee)  + 1 ad hoc member, but may vary with the needs of the Committee.

Contact the Research Committee.



Wolfgang Buhre      


Charles Marc Samama
Scientific Committee Chairperson
Federico Bilotta
Donal Buggy Member
Isabelle Decosterd Member
Anil Gupta 
Giovanna Lurati Buse Member
Alexander Zarbock Member
Claude Meistelman*
Ad hoc Member (Mentorship Programme Leader)
Julia Dowell*
Research & Clinical Trial Coordinator
Prisca Feijten* Junior Research & Clinical Trial Coordinator 
Pierre Harlet*
Junior Research & Clinical Trial Coordinator
Brigitte Leva*
Research & Clinical Team Leader
 Benoit Plichon*
Research & Clinical Trial Coordinator

* No voting rights


The ESA Research Committee proposes a comprehensive programme of activities aiming to promote excellent research in all fields of anaesthesiology throughout Europe.
For more information please visit the Research Section.

Research Groups

The Research Committee currently supports the following Research Groups: