Specialist Societies Committee

The Specialist Societies Committee coordinates all collaborative activities in the areas of anaesthesiology, intensive care, emergency medicine and pain management, between the ESA and the Specialist Societies that have signed a membership agreement with the ESA. The Committee is chaired by the ESA Scientific Committee Chairperson and will meet once a year during the Euroanaesthesia congress. A representative member of each Specialist Society serves as ex-officio member of a relevant Scientific Subcommittee.



Prof. Andreas Hoeft


Prof. Stefan De Hert

ESA President

Dr Simon Howell

European Association of Cardiothoracic Anaesthesiologists (EACTA)

Dr Rüdiger Noppens

European Airway Management Society (EAMS)

Prof. Henrik Rueffert

European Malignant Hyperthermia Group (EMHG)

Dr Hans De Boer

Enhanced Recovery After Surgery Society for Perioperative Care (ERAS)

Prof. Teodora Nicolescu

European Society for Computing and Technology in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care (ESCTAIC)

Dr Nada Sabourdin  

European Society for Paediatric Anaesthesiology (ESPA)

Prof. Jan-Paul Mulier

European Society for Perioperative Care of the Obese Patient (ESPCOP)

Dr Adrian Wong

International Fluid Academy (IFA)

Prof. Paul Michel Mertes     

International Suspected Perioperative Allergy Group (ISPAR)

Dr Koen Reyntjens

The Liver Intensive Care Group of Europe (LICAGE)

Dr Nicholas Moore

Society for Ultrasound in Anaesthesia (SUA)

Prof. Manu Malbrain

World Society of the Abdominal Compartment Syndrome (WSACS)

Ann De Groot*
 Marketing  & External Relations Manager

No voting rights